Road tests returning to 42 DriveTest Centres

TORONTO, Ont. – Commercial driver road tests will expand to 42 DriveTest locations across Ontario, as the province moves into the second phase of a reopening plan for the facilities. The change, coming Aug.

4, will coincide with the addition of Class G2 road tests, and Class M2 and Class M motorcycle road tests. The 56 DriveTest centers were closed on March 23 as a response to Covid-19, but gradually began to reestablish services on June 22.

(Photo: Ontario Ministry of Transportation)

“As we continue to reopen our economy, resuming driver testing is another way our government is helping people get back to work,” said Transportation Minister Caroline Mulroney, in a related press release. “We are phasing-in these services to ensure important health and safety measures are in place at all DriveTest centres and our staff and customers are fully protected.”

Commercial Class A, B, C, D, E, F and Z road tests were initially limited to 28 locations. All licensing services that were provided in the first phase of the reopening – including knowledge tests and licence upgrades – will continue to be available on a first-come, first-served basis. Most DriveTest locations continue to serve customers based on a driver’s date of birth.

“We have temporarily extended the expiration date of all driver’s licences, so we would ask that everyone hold off on visiting a DriveTest centre unless absolutely necessary,” Mulroney added. “For those going to a centre please exercise caution and follow all of the public health guidelines.” DriveTest facilities require customers to wear face coverings inside and during road tests, to sanitize their hands when entering the building, and undergo temperature checks before road tests. Examiners will be equipped with face shields, sanitizer packages, and seat covers.

DriveTest centers are scheduled to be fully operational by Sept.


That final phase will reestablish commercial driver tests in Bancroft, Brockville, Huntsville, Kapuskasing, Kirkland Lake, Mississauga, Sarnia, and Woodstock.