Covid tiers: The full list of restrictions by area

Health Secretary Matt Hancock has announced the latest round of coronavirus tiers, with more of the east and south-east of England entering tier 4, and only one area left in the most lenient rules. The new tiers will come into force on Boxing Day as the old tiering-system is not robust enough to control the new variant of Covid-19, Mr Hancock added. Here is the full list of tiers by area:

Tier 1: Medium alert

South West Isles of Scilly

Tier 2: High alert 

East Midland North West

Liverpool City Region South West Bath and North East Somerset

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Devon, including Plymouth and Torbay Wiltshire and Swindon

West Midlands Shropshire, and Telford and Wrekin Worcestershire

Herefordshire City of York North Yorkshire

Tier 3: Very High alert

East Midlands Derby and Derbyshire

Leicester and Leicestershire Lincolnshire Nottingham and Nottinghamshire

Northamptonshire North East North East Combined Authority (this area includes the local authorities of County Durham, Gateshead, South Tyneside and Sunderland)

North of Tyne Combined Authority (this area includes the local authorities of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside and Northumberland) Tees Valley Combined Authority (this area includes the local authorities of Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, and Stockton-on-Tees) North West

Greater Manchester Lancashire, Blackburn with Darwen, and Blackpool Warrington and Cheshire

South West South Gloucestershire Gloucestershire

North Somerset West Midlands Birmingham, Dudley, Sandwell, Walsall and Wolverhampton

Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull Yorkshire and The Humber

East Riding of Yorkshire Kingston upon Hull/Hull North East Lincolnshire

North Lincolnshire South Yorkshire West Yorkshire

South East Isles of Wight

Tier 4: Stay At Home alert

East of England Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes some local authorities in Hertfordshire (Broxbourne, Hertsmere, Three Rivers and Watford)

Peterborough Cambridgshire All 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East Berkshire (Bracknell Forest, Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, and Wokingham) Buckinghamshire

Gosport, Havant and Portsmouth Hastings and Rother Hertfordshire

Kent and Medway Surrey (including Waverley) Oxfordshire

Hampshire (with the exception of the New Forest)

You may also like...